Friday, August 14, 2015

Who the Heck Am I? An Unofficial #PitchWars Mentee Bio

Who am I?

Well, hopefully, if you're reading this, I'm your potential mentee! :) Or perhaps a fellow #PitchWars contestant.

(For those of you who are a little confused right now, I'm entering a contest called #PitchWars and will spend the next few paragraphs convincing the lovely and talented mentors why they should pick ME! For more info on this contest, please visit the amazing Brenda Drake's website HERE.)

So here goes...

I write both YA and Adult romance. My #PitchWars entry is a YA Contemporary that is actually the 4th book I've written. It's a coming-of-age story about a city girl who moves to the middle of God-Only-Knows-Where the summer before her senior year of high school. She plans to hate it, but finds that sometimes love can be found in the most unlikely places. It would appeal to fans of Sarah Dessen or Stephanie Perkins.

I love YA. I love the thrill of falling in love for the first time and, of course, I love the kissing! Whether I'm writing a near future thriller or a YA contemporary, all of my books have an element of romance—that's just how I roll. I love to read the romance and I love to write the romance. 'Nuff said.

I am ready, willing, and able to work hard. I welcome your critiques, thoughts, changes, suggestions... I WANT IT ALL! I am in this for the long haul, and I know that it takes an incredible amount of perseverance, dedication, hard work, and patience to get to where all of you authors are today. That is my goal, and I'm willing to put in the time and effort (and blood, sweat, and tears!) to get there. Please give me the chance to prove myself! (Okay, I'll lay off the begging for now...) :)

I like to think that I'm a very friendly, positive person. I love to laugh and I love to have fun, but I also know when to buckle down and get serious. I'm a hard worker. I'd love a mentor that I connect with as a person because it would be awesome to walk away from this with not only a perfectly polished manuscript (and maybe an offer of rep!), but a new friend as well.

I live in the middle-of-nowhere North Carolina with my husband and five sweet, fun, and wonderfully noisy little boys. Like many writers, I began writing as a child and wrote my first "book" in fifth grade. Time lapsed and in high school I became involved in things like cheerleading, show choir (think Glee but with dorkier outfits), soccer, boys... You catch my drift? Writing took a back burner.

Fast forward a decade. As a mom of young children, stories began to fill my mind (especially after I read the Twilight series. What can I say? Stephenie Meyer is my idol.) So, I started writing again. And now, here I am with four novels under my belt, begging you to PICK ME! Yup, I'm not ashamed to beg...or offer chocolates!


Well, obviously, this list is endless, but I have read some books recently that I LOVED.

—ANNA AND THE FRENCH KISS by Stephanie Perkins
—DEFY by Sara Larson
—WE WERE LIARS by E. Lockhart
—FRACTURE by Megan Miranda


—Vampire Diaries (I can't get enough of this show. Puh-lease tell me there are more coming out!)
White Collar (This one is a little obscure, but Matt Bomer who plays the main character Neal Caffrey is a hottie!)
Castle (Nathan Fillion fan, anyone?)
Drop Dead Diva (If you've never watched this one, you must! Find it on Netflix and watch ALL the seasons. Back to back. One right after the other. All day long. You won't be able to stop, trust me!)
Modern Family (Like I said, I love to laugh!)
Downton Abbey (In another life, I was born with a British accent and lived in a castle, so this one is fitting!)


I love sushi, overdosing on chocolate, all things girly and sparkly, and beating my kids at Just Dance. If you looked in my closet, you'd notice that I have a major scarf fetish. I also love a little adventure, and I'm slowly knocking things off my bucket list, like this:

Ziplining through the Guatemalan jungle
(The handsome guy next to me is my
hubs. Sorry, he's taken!) :)

Just look at that form! :)
And this:
Parasailing over Gulf of Mexico—that's how small the boat
looks from where we are in the sky. And yep, the only
thing tethering us to the boat is that little cable.

And, of course, this:
Snowmobiling & snowboarding in Utah

Oh, and can't forget this:
Completing my first Triathlon (Man, I look
rough! And rightly so...) :) 
I'd like to forget this:
Eating escargot—gotta say, I'm not a huge fan!

And this isn't so much adventurous as just plain fun:

Braving the SCBWI conference and making
some great friends.
 And my greatest hit so far:

Being a mom to 5 bouncing boys!

Does that make me a *Superstar*? :)

So, if you think I'd be a good mentee, I guess there's really only one thing left to say...

Thanks so much for stopping by! :)


  1. Love this post, Kristin! I wish you all the best in Pitch Wars - fingers crossed for you. :)

    Oh, and I'm with you on scarves, and if you like to laugh, check out the TV show The Middle. One of my favorites. :)

    1. Thanks, Madeline! I've heard of The Middle, but I haven't watched it. I'll have to check it out! :)

  2. How cool! I was lucky enough to get to read one of her books and she's amazing. PICK HER! Fingers and toes crossed for you...

    1. Lol. Stephanie, you are the BEST!! Thank you! <3

  3. What a fun post! Best of luck with Pitch Wars, Kristin! The mentors would be crazy not to pick you... :)

    1. Aw, shucks, you're making me blush. Thanks, Heather! <3

  4. You go girl and hope they do pick you have 6 boys to take care of...yup 6! The 5 in the picture and the one with you zip-lining. I mean, that is a lot of man power in one household and they all look close to age. I am phobic of heights but I went Zip-lining and, although terrified waiting by the tree (ok in total freak out mode), once I was going through the air, it was magical. The boat ride looks like it was great but not sure I could do that but I would love to snow mobile. So you are a go-getter who likes to have fun and knows when to get the job done. You have to be majorly organized too since you have all those boys:)

    1. Lol. Yes! I do have 6 boys to take care of! And it IS a lot of man power. Haha! :)

  5. Hi Kristin,

    I love your bio and, though I am afraid you might possibly have picked the same mentors I did, I still wish you all the best. Your bio reads somewhat like mine, if you moved to the midwest, replaced your boys with girls, and changed your outdoorsy things to less challenging activities! ;-)

  6. Look at you rocking out all the adventure stuff (I want to go zip lining some day so bad!) but still looking gorgeous doing it! Fingers crossed so hard for you. You write amazing stories that have heart and all the feels. Plus donut dumpster diving, which I now think all books need. ;)

  7. Oh my gosh this is so much fun, I LOVE this post! Zip lining is so on my to-do list! Best of luck with Pitch Wars! :D

  8. I'm sold. ;)

    You are so going to rock Pitch Wars! Go Kristin, go!

  9. I love it, and I think you're in! GOOD LUCK! xoxo

  10. Woot! You rock! If it hasn't happened yet, I hope you're picked!

  11. Looks like you're doing good on that bucket list. Although raising 5 boys is certainly the biggest adventure of all:) We've got two boys so far, but they often make enough noise for 5;)


I LOVE reading your comments!! Thanks for taking the time to leave one!